I Ain’t Scared…

Yoooouuuuuuuuuu guys…..I was going to do a Facebook post for you all about this, but I am just too excited and the gravity is too huge. I have news of the most epic proportions that I had no choice but to dust off this ol’ blog and share it with you. The most EXCITING thing has happened!

This dude…this adorable precious furry little ball of anxiety, can finally cross something off his “I am terrified of this!” list.

IMG_20150909_135953

After three years, Cooper has successfully been desensitized against…

The Evil Blender.

Cue the fanfare and trumpets!

Ever since Cooper came to live with us, he has had a very long list of Very Scary Things that will send him into a barking hackled nervous frenzy. The Evil Vacuum Cleaner, The Evil Mailman, The Evil Paper Shredder, The Evil Dog Barking on TV, The Evil Next Door Neighbor’s Car Door, The Evil Lawn Mower…to name a few.  And until recently, The Evil Blender has been on this list, which was not the most conducive to mom’s morning smoothie routine.

So how did I do it? Nothing fancy, just simple good old-fashioned repetitive (very repetitive) treat training. Cooper was asked to “sit” on the rug in the kitchen while I used the blender. I would keep eye contact with him, call him a good boy, and start with very short blending bursts. At first it was just for one second. I turned it off before he could react, offered sooo much praise, lots of pets, “good boys” and most importantly if you’re as food motivated as Cooper: treats!

I gradually over (many) weeks increased how long I could run the blender without stopping and giving him a treat, making sure to go very slowly so we didn’t back-slide. Of course, Oscar was right there for brotherly moral support – and treats of his own – every step of the way.

IMG_20150727_204259

And holy cow you guys this morning…Cooper actually got up and walked away to get a drink of water while I was using the blender. I’d call that a MAJOR win for the Coops, and I am absolutely bursting with momma pride. So with this momentous milestone, we are now officially demoting The Evil Blender back down to ordinary kitchen appliance status, and it will from here on be known as simply “the blender.”

This is a big day.

~

3 Comments

Filed under Our Foster Journey

3 responses to “I Ain’t Scared…

  1. Dad

    Couldn’t be prouder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shelley

    Fantastic job! Your hard work paid off! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great win for you both 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Words go here:

