Like we “need” an excuse to get new collars…

…we totally don’t. Fun collars and ID tags are our guilty pleasures around here. The boys prefer the couch or the floor to a comfy dog bed, we only do toys in separate rooms, and the warm Nashville weather keeps the time of year for fun sweaters and snoods to only a few months out of the year, so as far as puppy swag goes – we LOVE our collars and tags!

Kaylee

Kaylee rockin’ some Sirius Republic style

Roxie sporting bling from Pandora's Jewel Box.

Roxie sporting bling from Pandora’s Jewel Box

Oscar - How YOU doin'??

Oscar is crazy for Collar Mania.

Cooper campaigning in threads from The Cozy Critter and Dog Tag Art.

Cooper campaigning in threads from The Cozy Critter and Dog Tag Art.

So when we decided to make it official and add Cooper to our family permanently, of course the boys needed new outfits to celebrate!
The timing was actually perfect – Cooper’s old collar had just bit the dust, and the tag hanging from it wasn’t exactly accurate anymore.

wpid-IMAG1445-1.jpg

Wait, we never posted about that tag when we got it, did we? (Bad blogger!) Well better late than never, here’s a close up:

give_this_dog_a_home

Well Cooper doesn’t need to look for a home anymore, he found one! So this tag had to go, STAT. So I hit the interwebs in search of stylish new everyday outfits for both our main men. This time I browsed Etsy and found two amazing vendors: The Eclectic Hound and Dog Left Designs.

Dog Left

First order of business, replacing that outdated tag. Discovering Dog Left Designs was the easy part, the hard part was making up my mind! After e-mailing back and forth with shop owner Bryan, I landed on the perfect designs for each of our boys. They arrived each in their own little envelope,

Etsy 017

….and I could not have been happier with how they turned out! But you know I’m going to make you wait for the whole outfit before The Reveal. On to the collars…

Eclectic Hound

We can’t take credit for finding The Eclectic Hound on our own. After the cutest dog in the Pacific Northwest showed up in the blogosphere wearing an adorable collar from The Eclectic Hound, we knew we had to check them out. I found their online store, and I was instantly smitten. Once again, my only problem was making up my mind. And once again, shop owner Lara was extremely helpful in answering my questions and helping me with sizing.  She even threw in some yummy snacks for Oscar and Cooper.

Etsy 002

I know I say this every time new collars arrive at our house, by these are my favorite so far! I mean seriously – can you handle the cuteness?

Etsy 014

Cooper is wearing “Umbrellas for Elephants,” which is just about the most adorable thing I have ever seen in my entire life. I am just dying over the coordinating red stripe fabric on the martingale loop.

Etsy 016

I mean could you even? Because I cannot. And Oscar – oh my handsome man, center of my universe, my Sunshine….

Etsy 013

RIGHT?!?!?  Lara designs this fabric herself. She told me a story about one customer who ordered this design for both her dogs who were only slightly different sizes. Lara surprised her by sneaking each pup’s name into their respective collars. LOVE! Even the brand tag Lara sews inside each collar is adorable!

Etsy 004

Oh, and about that bling…

Etsy 006

Made of heavy-duty metal and engraved on the back with our personal details, I am in LURVE with these tags.

Etsy 010

Cooper’s is a two-tone round tag with a paw print in the middle. The way his name curves around the bottom and the fun font of the engraving just seems very “him.” Oscar on the other hand is a little more matter-of-fact, it just seemed the rectangle shape and individual letters were more his style.

Etsy 012

I just love these new outfits so much I could just…I don’t know, but I could. And what do the boys think of their new duds? I think they’re comfortable in them.

Etsy 008

You’ve been waiting for the best part, right? Well here it is – The Eclectic Hound has a special offer for HBAMF readers – 10% off your next order for anything in their shop! Just enter Heartbeat10 at checkout. And that’s not all – Dog Left Designs will give a $2 refund to anyone who mentions Heartbeat at my Feet at checkout.  How ’bout THAT? Oh, and please share photos of your pooch in their new swag on our Facebook page!

We were not compensated in any way for our reviews of The Eclectic Hound and Dog Left Designs – so go show them some love. And big thanks to The Rufus Way for sending us down an Etsy wormhole that wasted waaaaay too much of one work day. #totallyworthit 

~

9 Comments

Filed under Our Foster Journey

9 responses to “Like we “need” an excuse to get new collars…

  1. OMGeeeeee! Those are some of the cutest collars I’ve ever seen! LURVE!

    Like

  2. Their collars look so great! Thanks for the credit 🙂 Your boys are so daper and I’m totally diggin’ the tags as well.

    Like

  3. That elephant collar just made me squeal!!! LOVE!!!!

    Like

  4. Beautiful – every bit of it!

    Like

  5. I love the collars… I think Boomer and Dottie need new ones now!

    Like

  6. Pingback: When the boys want to get SIRIUSLY dirty… | A Heartbeat at My Feet

Words go here:

