Party Like a Walk Star

You guys, I am seriously so pumped.  As you know, we accidentily recently became a three-dog house.  As you also know, this was NOT in the plan!  We’d had our hands crazy-full with Oscar and Cooper, so when Roxie came along, we were halfway like “aww, she’s so cute and so small, we have to saaaaave her!” and halfway just like “aww crap… ”

But this week, something amazing happened, and I am just going to go ahead and toot my own horn for a moment.  I took all three dogs (wait for it) on a walk (oh wait there’s more….) By. My. Self. 

Say WHA–?!?!

Yep…it was terrifying and exhilarating at the same time.  Cooper is such a spaz energetic guy that skimping on his exercise is just not an option.  So I’ve been amping up the frequency of walks, and of course we can’t leave Oscar at home, so he comes along.  They’ve been doing pretty darn good, too.

It helps that Oscar is Mr. Stellar Leash Walker Extraordinaire.  Of course he’s new at walking with another dog (walked by the same handler), so he’s learning, too.  I’m able to control them enough so they don’t pull (much), and they’re decently responsive. We’re far from perfect though – it’s a process.

But then, we unexpectedly added Roxie and well – shoot, I couldn’t leave her home while I took the boys out for their morning romp!  So I thought it through, planned our route to the tee, loaded up on treats and poop bags and hit the road.  Literally – instead of walk around our neighborhood which as limited sidewalks and no shortage of dogs running at large, we piled into the car and headed to one of the lovely Nashville Greenways – no cars & wide level paths, exactly what we needed for our maiden tri-dog voyage.

I gotta say, everyone did pretty darn good!  That is, once I figured out who was going to be on which leash, held in which hand, in which combination.  (If you’re interested in specifics, Oscar & Coop in my left hand, Roxie in my right.)  The down side is that with both hands full of dogs, I didn’t have a spare hand for dispensing treat rewards for good behavior, or maybe more importantly, for picture-taking! 

But trust me, despite lack of photographic evidence, it really did happen. 

Oh wait, does this count?  This is Roxie falling asleep on Cooper in the car on the way home, because she’s soooo sleepy from her very first pack-walk!

For information on adopting Cooper, please contact
Agape Animal Rescue.
If Roxie’s more your type, comment below or e-mail me at aheartbeatatmyfeet [AT] gmail [DOT] com.

~

7 Comments

Filed under Our Foster Journey

7 responses to “Party Like a Walk Star

  1. You did party like a walk star….the most I can handle at one time is two! 😉

    Like

  2. This is so awesome and cute – you rock!

    Like

  3. zoki

    amazing!!! roxie seems smitten with her older brothers. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m so jealous!! I was proud of myself for mastering two at a time, given that two are leash reactive (one due to ecstasy at seeing another dog, the other due to a serious desire to eat the other dog in one bite). Now I’m going to have to step it up. Yay you!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Four Feet, Twelve Paws | A Heartbeat at My Feet

Words go here:

